TCU: List of Tanzania Universities With Their Official Websites 2019/20

Beware of Job Scammers!
Please Never Pay Money To Get A Job!
TCU Entry points 2019 | TCU Entry requirements 2019 | TCU Tanzania | TCU Login |  TCU Application | TCU Guidebook | TCU Selections | TCU Scholarships | TCU Vyuo vikuu Tanzania | TCU website | | TCU Universities Application | TCU Universities | TCU book | TCU University | TCU Guidelines 2019 | TCU Application form | TCU Login account | Application za vyuo 2019 | Selections za Vyuo 2019 | TCU Application Procedures


TCU Background and Core Functions
The Tanzania Commission for Universities (TCU) is a body corporate established on the 1st July 2005, under the Universities Act 2005 (Chapter 346 of the Laws of Tanzania) with mandate to recognise, approve, register and accredit Universities operating in Tanzania, and local or foreign University level programmes being offered by registered higher education institutions. It also coordinates the proper functioning of all university institutions in Tanzania so as to foster a harmonised higher education system in the country.

The Tanzania Commission for Universities succeeded the former Higher Education Accreditation Council (HEAC) which was established in 1995 under the Education Act 1995 with a legal mandate to regulate the establishment and subsequent accreditation of private university institutions in the country. Being limited only to private universities, such mandate was considered unfavourable for the promotion of a viable public-private partnership in higher education as stipulated in the National Higher Education Policy of 1999.

Therefore, such circumstances prompted the government to establish a harmonized higher education system in the country which led into the establishment of the Tanzania Commission for Universities. In order to ensure such a harmonious higher education system does not compromise institutional peculiarities and autonomy, each University has the legal right to operate under its own charter.

The mandates and core functions of the Commission are provided under section 5(1) of the Universities Act Cap. 346. These functions can be clustered into three major areas. 
Hereunder are the list of Tanzania Universities with their website:-
Links to Universities Institutions, click to open and read full details of each university:
Sn | Name of Institution | Accronym | Website
1 Abdulrahman Al-Sumait University SUMAIT
2 Aga Khan Univeristy AKU
3 Ardhi University ARU
4 Catholic University of Health and Allied Science CUHAS
5 Hubert Kairuki Memorial University HKMU
6 The International Medical and Technological Universuty IMTU
7 Kampala International University in Tanzania KIUT
8 Mbeya University of Science and Technology MUST
9 Moshi Co-operative University MoCU
10 Mount Meru University MMU
11 Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Science MUHAS
12 Muslim University of Morogoro MUM
13 Mwalimu Julius K. Nyerere University of Agriculture and Technology MJNUAT
14 Mwenge Catholic University MWECAU
15 Mzumbe University MU
16 Nelson Mandela African Institution of Science and Technology NM-AIST
17 Open University of Tanzania OUT
18 Ruaha Catholic University RUCU
19 Sebastian Kolowa Memorial Universtiy SEKOMU
20 Sokoine University of Agriculture SUA
21 St. Augustine University of Tanzania SAUT
22 St. John's University of Tanzania SJUT
23 St. Joseph University in Tanzania SJUIT
24 State University of Zanzibar SUZA
25 Teofilo Kisanji University TEKU
26 Tumaini University Makumira TUMA
27 Tumaini University Dar es Salaam College TUDARCo
28 The united African University of Tanzania UAUT
29 University of Arusha UoA
30 University of Bagamoyo UOB
31 University of Dar es salaam UDSM
32 University of Dodoma UDOM
33 University of Iringa UoI
34 Zanzibar University ZU